Home Asia ASEAN

Indonesia Opens Bali with Special Tourist Visa for 23 Countries, Including Thailand

Indonesia is launching special tourism visa services for foreign visitors from 23 countries, including Thailand, to visit Bali.

Thailand’s Foreign Affairs Ministry recently confirmed the news of the launch of the special visa application service which covers Thailand. Other countries include Australia, the U.S., the Netherlands, Brunei, the Philippines, Britain, Italy, Japan, Germany, Cambodia, Canada, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, France, Qatar, New Zealand, Singapore, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam.

Tourists can enter Indonesia via a Special Tourism Visa on Arrival arrangement. Foreigners can only obtain the VOA if they enter Indonesia at the immigration checkpoint of Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali.

Holders of this visa will, however, be permitted to depart the country via other Indonesian airports.

Indonesian authorities are requiring that international travelers must present themselves at the immigration counter to apply for the VOA.

They must have a passport that is valid for at least six months, a return ticket or a transit ticket to continue traveling to another country, and relevant documentation required by the Covid-19 task force. This includes RT-PCR test results, Covid-19 vaccination certificates, and proof of accommodation and hotel payments.

Special visa holders will be allowed to stay in Indonesia for a maximum of 30 days. The visa can be extended once with an additional 30-day extension period.